Polling and Data

The religiously unaffiliated represents the single largest religious demographic in the Democratic Party

Secularism 101


Book Recommendations 

Articles and Reports

Elected Officials

Association of State Elected Officials

The Association of State Elected Officials was established in 2020 to network openly nonreligious elected officials at all levels of government. It was founded by Leonard Preserg, an atheist school board member in Fayetteville, GA. 

Congressional Freethought Caucus

The Congressional Freethought Caucus was founded in 2018 by Representatives Huffman, Raskin, Kildee, and McNerney. It has grown to include more than a dozen Members of Congress and taken the lead on issues impacting religious freedom, scientific integrity, and discrimination toward nontheists. Congressman Raskin, who identifies as Jewish and a humanist, and Congressman Huffman, who identifies as a humanist, Co-Chair the Caucus.

Minnesota Secular Government Caucus

The Minnesota Secular Government Caucus was founded in 2022 and is co-chaired by Rep. Mike Freiberg, Rep. Athena Hollins, Senator John Marty and Senator Jen McEwen.  


Center for Freethought Equality

The Center for Freethought Equality is the advocacy and political arm of the American Humanist Association. It lobbies for the separation of church and state and civil liberties in Washington, D.C. and has an affiliated political action committee that works to increase the number of open humanists and atheists in public office at all levels of government. You can see a list of atheist and humanist elected officials here. Contact Ron Millar ( for a copy of their questionnaire.

Candidate Trainings
Secular Democrats of America offers training that will equip you with the confidence to message effectively, and authentically, about religious freedom issues and your religious or nonreligious identity. Contact us for more information and please review our Key Issues to learn more about religious freedom issues.